Dyfed Primary Schools XC 2017

The 2017 Dyfed (Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire) Primary Schools Cross Country Championships will be held at the United Counties Showground, Nantyci, Carmarthen on Thursday 16th March, with the first event at 4.30pm. This year’s championships is sponsored by McDonalds Carmarthen & West Wales Freemasons Provincial Council and organised in its 30th year by the local Carmarthen Harriers Athletics Club.

Last year’s event saw over 1300 children take place and this year is set to be another bumper turnout for one of the biggest and turned out sporting events currently being held in Carmarthenshire and West Wales.

There will be 8 races for the following age groups – years 3, 4, 5 and 6 (boys and girls) The Timetable is every 10 minutes and presentations to the first 10 individuals and first 3 teams in each race will be made at approximately 5.55pm with special guests being invited to present. Each event will be over a 1000m or 1200m course.

All Primary Schools in Dyfed have received an entry form and all the fixture details. There is no qualifying standard needed and every child in Dyfed is invited to get involved. For anyone interested in taking part, you must let your teacher know to enter a team. If there isn’t a team individuals are also welcome from schools and counties. There will be an entry fee of £3 per team and schools need to return the reply slip to Mr Eric Evans by Friday 10th March.

The top 2 and top 10 making a total of twenty four from Years 5 and 6 will be invited to represent Dyfed at the annual cross country match against West Glamorgan Primary Schools at Margam Park, Port Talbot on 25th March, which is a curtain raiser ahead of the SIAB Schools International match on the same afternoon.

Full Information, Course Maps, Timetable and Directions for athletes and spectators can be found online on the Carmarthen Harriers website, Facebook & Twitter pages. Everyone is welcome to tweet their pictures & news from the Championships using @CarmsHarriers #DyfedPrimary2017.